Number 34–Tan-tan

Monday, May 25, 2015

I apologize in advance, this will be a short journal.

Today was so much fun. Today was the tan-tan tour! We rode in jeeps all around the island and got to see some of the most beautiful spots in St. Croix. We went to the third highest point, a beautiful resort, the domino club to see pigs drinking beer (that was funny), and to some tidal pools! Those were absolutely gorgeous. I was in a jeep with Cassidy, Mackenzie, and Andrea and Shomba was our driver. She made it quite the adventure. We made up the tan-tan dance with an acacia block. It was one of the most fun things we’ve done so far. If you ever come to St. Croix I would really recommend it. Shomba was talking to us about how they are in search of more female drivers because they only had 2 compared to the 4 or 5 boys they have driving. I thought that was so cool because you wouldn’t really think of girls doing that sort of thing, but it’s so much fun. Why wouldn’t you want to? It reminds me of when I was younger and I would go to my neighbors house when they were playing video games and they never let me have a turn. It’s just the little things, you know? It just makes me really happy that they are specifically looking for female drivers. That’s so awesome. Go tan-tan people 🙂

Other than tan-tan we really didn’t do much. We ate dinner at Rowdy Joe’s and I had some really good and spicy mac-and-cheese. After dinner we came back and everyone was exhausted because the tan-tan tour lasted 8 hours! Worth it though.

Day 12 was an amazingly bumpy ride. There’s only 6 days left so let’s do this.

Leave a comment