Number 23–Getting to St. Croix

Thursday, May 16, 2015

Today I started my journey to St. Croix at 2:00am. I woke up, got ready and was out the door with my dad by 3:30am. We made our way to Chicago, which is a little over an hour and a half from my house. I arrived to the airport at 5:15 and got my luggage checked. I noticed that people are not very happy early in the morning. The airport workers were very crabby with me. I was so excited and ready to be on my way, but they definitely brought my mood down. Oh well. After I got through security, I got some yummy Starbucks and made my way to my gate. Deanna had already been there for about a half an hour and we got to get to know each other. We got to board about an hour later, but we were stuck on the plane for about 2 hours before we went anywhere. That was not a fun experience. We were both tired and ready to be on the island, but we were stuck in the same spot, the same chair for hours. Once we did take off the flight wasn’t that smooth so that made everything worse. Thankfully we landed in Miami and had a safe flight. Unfortunately, we missed our flight to St. Croix because of the delay in Chicago, but we did get reconnected to a (much) later flight! We also got FREE food so that was awesome! At the Miami airport we were starting to see more people that were different from us. We saw people that spoke Spanish, people of different color, and one boy in particular stood out to me. He had some kind of face deformity. He couldn’t have been older than 5. He seemed like he was the happiest kid in the whole stinking world and that really was awesome to see. Nobody treated him differently, no one looked at him funny. Everyone just kept on doing what they were doing and that was incredible to me. There were lots of other kids around and the kids didn’t seem like they even questioned it. They just accepted it like it was nothing but normal. Deanna and I did too. He came over and started trying to talk to us. He would point at the plane and point at us and we would ask him questions. We was such a good and cute little boy. I hope that my kids can be as good as that someday. He was friendly and ready to talk to anyone. Once 5:15pm rolled around we boarded the plane and got to the island! My professor, Tamara, met us at the airport and we got our stuff and headed to the island. (By this time it was 8:30pm) We got acquainted with our cottage and cottage mates, we finally got to sleep, after being awake for more hours than wanted.

I was kind of sad that I didn’t get to really see the island during the day! I was so ready to sit on the beach, and get to see a little bit of what I was in for, but it’s actually okay that I didn’t. I was very happily surprised when we woke up today how beautiful it was. The view from our cottages, which is the big picture, is just absolutely incredible.

All in all, day 1 was exhausting and I’m glad it’s over. I can’t wait for the 17 more to come.

Leave a Reply

