Number 17–The S Word

Suicide is a horrible thing. Something that shouldn’t be joked about ever. Today one of my professors said something along the lines of “If you’re going to make me do math I might as well commit suicide.” Did he really mean it? Of course not. But that is absolutely not something you joke about, especially in a class full of college students who most likely know someone who has committed suicide or are even contemplating it. I honestly got so upset I almost left. I hardly paid any attention the rest of the class. In September my 16 year old cousin committed suicide and it has really left a mark on me. I could probably count on both of my hands the amount of times I saw her because she lives 6 hours away from my house, but that does not mean it didn’t affect me. I think about her all the time actually. At my graduation party this summer she wrote on my picture thing “we need to see each other more.” Gosh she was just so cute and young and innocent. It makes me feel absolutely horrible that she had no other way out. The only thing that makes me feel better about the whole situation is that she’s happier now. She’s got to be happier now.

Back to my main point though. Suicide is not a joke. I 100% hate it when people laugh about something so serious. They make jokes about killing themselves while someone might actually be doing the same thing they’re joking about. It’s so sad. It breaks my heart. Suicide is the second leading cause of death for people 15-24. Can you believe that? Let that soak in for a minute. This is a huge problem in society because everyone makes jokes about it!! IF WE TREATED THIS SERIOUSLY MORE PEOPLE WOULD GET HELP. If you need help you should not be afraid to get it. We want you here. You were put here for a reason, and you might not know what it is yet, but it’s important. You are so, so important. I don’t know why I’m here yet. I’m sure I’m not going to figure it out for a while. But there is a reason and I’m determined to find it. All I know is that I’m important to this life, Carrie was important to this life, and you’re important. Don’t ever forget that.

Much love,

Emily

http://www.suicidepreventionlifeline.org/ 

Leave a Reply

