Number 8–Goodbye Childhood

I’ve lived in the same house for basically my whole life. We moved here when I was 2 so I really don’t know any other life any where else. My parents decided that it’s time to move on so they sold the house and are going to build a new one. We’re going to live in an apartment for a few months which is the period of time in which I will lose my mind. Since they’re moving out while I’m going to be at school I started cleaning out my room today which was….kind of sad. I found a bunch of my music stuff from throughout my life, I found the old scrapbook that my grandma and me started together. Obviously I got distracted looking at all that stuff and it was just so fun and it made me sad. I’ve made SO many memories here. I had parties here, I broke my toe here, we got our first dog here and she peed and pooped EVERYWHERE. It’s just going to be so different. And that’s how I really know that my childhood is gone. My parents aren’t tied here anymore because I don’t have to go to school in this town anymore. I don’t have a ton of friends I’m leaving behind, and the ones I am can all drive. It’s easy to meet up. I won’t be living at the house that my parents are building for very long. 3 or 4, maybe 5 years and then I’m hopefully out. I’ll be living on my own with my own job. That’s crazy to think about, you know? Where did life go? Soon enough I’ll have my own family and I’ll be building my own home. Sure that’s 5 or 10 years down the road, but 5 or 10 years is basically nothing. 10 years ago it was 2005. That doesn’t seem long ago at all. Time is such an interesting concept. It drives me nuts thinking about it. Where did yesterday go? What is tomorrow going to look like? Why did today seem so much faster than yesterday did? Time is something that will always stump me.

On a way less serious note, when I found my scrapbooks today that made me realize that I want to start scrapbooking again. I think it’s so much fun and it’s something that not a lot of people do anymore. I think we, as a society, are just relying on social media to replace scrapbooks. If you put it online, it’ll always be there. But where’s the fun in that? I don’t want to be showing my children my Facebook page when I’m older. I want to pull out an adorable book and show them the wonderful moments of my life. The special ones that deserve pages in a book. Not an online album.

Saying goodbye to growing up is hard. I feel like I’m still 12. That my family should not be moving. That I do not go to college. But sometimes you just need a reality check that you’re going to do great things and you gotta remember that saying goodbye is just apart of the process.

Until later,

Emily

Leave a Reply

